Dr Namrata Agarwal
Long Term Cornea fellowship – under world renowned cornea specialist Dr Samar K Basak (President - Eye Bank Association of India) at Disha Eye Hospital (Kolkata)
Glaucoma training – Aravind Eye Hospital, Madurai
Phaco and Anterior Segment fellowship – Venu Eye Institute & Research Centre, Delhi
MBBS , MS – Govt. Medical College, Amritsar
Life member
Eye Bank Association of India
Cornea Society of India
Dehradun Ophthalmic Society
All India Ophthalmological Society
Indian Medical Association (IMA), Dehradun
Gold medal for best video and best poster at Uttarakhand State Ophthalmic Society Conference 2014, Mussoorie
Dr Namrata Agarwal with her Guide & Mentor
Dr. Samar K Basak
Dr. Samar K Basak, MD, DNB, FRCS, is Director and one of the founder members of Disha Eye Hospitals, Kolkata, India. He looks after Cataract, Cornea and External eye diseases, and Eye Bank services. Currently, he is the President, EBAI; Vice president Asia Eye Bank Association; Vice President Cornea Society of India and Editor- Proceedings, of AIOS.
He is the recipient of CS Reshmi Award, Col. Rangachari Award; ET Selvam Award; Sante Vision Award; PS Hardia Award; AIOS-Cornea Award and RP Dhanda Award from All India Ophthalmological Society. He is also awarded with 8 other Gold Medal oration including prestigious Prof LP Agarwal Oration by AIIMS.
Internationally, he has received the Best Video Award 2 times in ESCRS; and “Best of Show” Video Awards 3 times and Best poster awards 4 times in AAO. He is the first recipient of “People’s choice award” for the Best Video in ASCRS- 2012.
He has received “Achievement Award” and “International Ophthalmic Education Award” by AAO in 2008; and “Achievement Award” by APAO in 2011.
He is an Examiner in FRCS (Glasgow) and has written 6 books in Ophthalmology and 22 publications in peer-review journals. Dr. Basak is currently the reviewer of 8 prestigious journals including IJO, Ophthalmology, Clinical Ophthalmology, AJO and BJO.
He has performed many live surgical sessions in different parts of the country, and internationally on Phaco, Manual SICS, DSEK, DALK and Boston KPro.

• Dr. Samar K. Basak has been appointed by the Cornea Society of America and Sight Life International as one of five Cornea    Surgeons worldwide for Cornea Skill Transfer and is currently in charge of the South- East Asia Zone.

• People's Choice Award for the Best Video, American Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgery (ASCRS) 2012, Chicago

• ‘Best of Show’ Video Award on DMEK Surgery, AAO Annual Conference, San Francisco, 2009- Dr. Samar K. Basak

• Best Poster Award on DMEK Surgery, AAO Annual Conference, San Francisco, 2009- Dr. Samar K. Basak

• Best Poster Award on DSEK Surgery Complications, AAO Annual Conference, San Francisco, 2009- Dr. Samar K. Basak

• The Best of The Show Video Award, AAO Annual Conference, Atlanta, 2008- Dr. Samar K. Basak

• “Achievement Award” from American Academy of Ophthalmology for Significant Contribution in Ophthalmology, AAO Atlanta, 2008-    Dr. Samar K. Basak

• International Ophthalmic Education Award, AAO Annual Conference- Atlanta 2008- Dr. Samar K. Basak

• Best Video Award in Scientific Category, European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS), Berlin, Germany, Sept.    2008- Dr. Samar K. Basak

• Best Video Award in Special Cases Category, ESCRS, Stockholm, Sweden, Sept. 2007- Dr. Samar K. Basak

• AIOS R.P. Dhanda Award, AIOC, 2012 for Hospital Cornea Retrieval Program (HCRP) and the Future of Indian Eye Banking- Dr.    Samar K. Basak

• Best External Disease Paper Award in Cornea “Complications of Descemet Stripping Endothelial Keratoplasty (DSEK) in the first 200    cases” reported by a single surgeon, AIOC, Kolkata, 2010- Dr. Samar K. Basak

• Dr. S. P. Hardia Gold Medal Award for the Best Free Paper in Refractive Surgery, 66th AIOC, 2008, Bangalore- Dr. Samar K. Basak

• C.S. Reshmi Gold Medal Award for Best Video Film, the 58th All India Ophthalmic Congress, Chennai, 2000 & 2008- Dr. Samar K.   Basak

• Santé Vision Gold Medal Award for Best Work done in Cataract, 63rd All India Ophthalmic Congress, Bhubaneswar, 2005- Dr. Samar   K. Basak

• E.T. Selvam Gold Medal Award for Best Poster, 60th All India Ophthalmic Congress, Ahmedabad, 2002. Also in AIOC- 2005, Dr.   Samar K. Basak

• Col. V. Rangchari Gold Medal Award for Best Paper, the 59th All India Ophthalmic Congress, Calcutta, 2001. Also in AIOC, 2005- Dr.   Samar K. Basak

Home | About Us | Know Your Doctors | Facilities & Services | Photo Gallery | Testimonials | Contact Us Copyright by Agarwal Nethralaya